

Competition in Connections Code of Practice Panel, 6th October 2020

Draft minutes

Microsoft Teams

Attendees:

Dave Overman, Chair (DO)	GTC
Brian Hoy (BH)	ENWL
Patrick Daly (PD)	PN Daly Ltd
Graham Smith (GS)	HEA
Beverley Hudson (BHu)	SPEN
Chris Roe (CR)	UCCG
Colin Jamieson (CJ)	ESPUG
Drew Johnston (DJ)	NPg
Gwen MacIntyre (GM)	SSE
Grant Rogers (GR)	WPD
Steve McLaren (SMc)	SPEN
Steve Rogers (SR)	UKPN
Jayson Whitaker (JW)	Energy Assets
Neeraj Vasani (NV)	ENA

1. Welcome and introduction

The Chair welcomed the group and went over the agenda.

2. Review of minutes and actions

The minutes were accepted and actions reviewed.

3. Requirement for a letter of authority

The Chair suggested PD lead on this item.

PD stated that they reverted to the Electricity Act, requirements under Section 16 and build out from this what the requirements of the acts are relative to current practices. PD identified certain areas of inconsistency, not necessarily in the application of the output interpretation. In doing so, PD addressed issues identified by the Chair and themselves. Certain areas that had been identified particularly the Chairs own concern about the veracity of load being booked sometimes by iDNOs. Is this issue being addressed on a best practice basis by WPD? Considering what should be brought forward before the ENA, consideration should be given to this. Contentious items not previously discussed should also be included in the document. Happy to continue this discussion with the Chair and submit when jointly happy.

The Chair asked the group for feedback. They stated that it is not in a position to show everyone yet but might help if other individuals want to help or have a look offline. At this stage it is not coming to the Panel as a proposed amendment but more a case being built.



4. AOB

The Chair raised the Panel membership as an AOB. Drew is moving role, Richard Allcock has moved role, Geoff Early position is uncertain too. Is there a need to refresh the Panel make-up.

Fundamental review of Panel as small number of iDNOs represented. The group continued to discuss the Panel make-up and the objective behind this group.

Action: ENA to follow up with HBF to see if they would like to nominate an observer to replace Ray Farrows.

5. Date of next meeting

The group agreed 6th January 2021 from 2-3pm.